WORDS on WORDS by, Author Ellie Pulikonda.


 

Today’s Word: Letting Go

 

I’d be the first to admit that I’m a worrier who anguishes over small things to the point that it interferes with my sleep and my health.  Again and again, I remind myself that “this” is what it is, I can’t change it, and I need to quit reframing it and endlessly trying to get to a different outcome.

Alas, I’m preaching to the ‘choir’ when I do this.  I know that I can’t make a dent in the problem but I can seldom segue from acknowledging that reality to being able to actually let it go.  Whether the question is enormous, like what is this world coming to, or simply looms large on my personal radar screen, like why do I have to watch out for all those careless drivers every time I go to the grocery store, I obsess.  ‘It’s not fair!’  or some permutation of that thought is my usual mental response and I chew on it endlessly.

 

 

As an antidote to all this obsessing, I’ve decided to learn to take deep breaths, focus on improving my own thoughts and actions to the extent I can, and letting the rest go.  Well, I’ve decided that.  Now I only have to put it into practice and hold onto the practice until it becomes second nature.  We’ll see how well it works.

Until Next Time!

Ellie Pulikonda, Writer/Author

 

Readers Comments Help Me Be a Better Writer!

