WORDS on WORDS By Ellie – Awe, The Golden Years.


bced6-famous-old-age-quotes

TODAY’S WORD: AGING

“I’m not sure when it happened but when I was distracted and not paying attention, someone else moved in and started running my body. And I can’t say for sure but I’m thinking that she’s about three years old.”

So, here’s what’s happening. The first thing I noticed is that she must have found my boxes of Crayola crayons for she began to color brown splotches all over my arms and legs and neck. Once in a while, she seems to choose a purple crayon for the splotches but mostly they’re a drab and ugly brown. I’ve just about used up my flesh-colored crayon trying to color over the brown splotches so they won’t show.

Then she began to play Charley Horse with my leg muscles. She mostly loves to do this in the wee small hours of the morning and generally interrupts a fabulous dream in which I’m decades younger. Lately, she’s begun to bend my toes under at the same time so I don’t know where to massage first. That doubles the fun. For her!

I gather she loves to twirl around and around inside me the way three-year-olds do because I’m the one who gets dizzy all the time. She just bounces off to another activity, like putting small objects in front of me that I trip over when I walk.

.
imageedit_1_6806781433
.

Now she’s begun playing peek-a-boo with my eyes. When her little hands cover my face, everything grows blurry and indistinct. I’m pretty sure she’s also the one who puts her fingers in my ears on occasion causing me to miss parts of conversations.

But the naughtiest thing she does is re-arrange my memory. Things from my childhood come readily to mind. Childish memories are front and center where they simply crowd out current activities of the brain, like where I laid down my glasses, did I or did I not pay the gas bill, have I taken my medications this morning.

She doesn’t show any signs of moving out soon and there’s been no evidence that she’ll grow out of this mischievousness. So I guess I’ll have to learn how to live with my new, young roommate and hope she moves out before she becomes a teenager!

AWE, The Golden Years .  .  .  .  .

Ellie Pulikonda, Author/Writer

Grab a copy of my New Book before I forget It just released! LOL.

.

Product Details

( Finding Faith ~ Ebook Now 2.99 )

5 thoughts on “WORDS on WORDS By Ellie – Awe, The Golden Years.

Readers Comments Help Me Be a Better Writer!

