New Words on Words by Ellie . . .


WORDS on WORDS

Today’s words: Success and Failure

As an elementary school student (and if truth be told, as a high school student) I measured myself by my successes and failures. I loved the ‘soft’ subjects: reading, writing, and later English, social studies, and history. I aced them. The so-called ‘solid’ subjects were my downfall. I failed chemistry, twice, in high school, barely made it through algebra (math was always a struggle) and would have had to repeat geometry except the class was full. One presumes it was full of students who could actually understand it.

I am just now coming to the realization that ‘success’ and ‘failure’ are not absolutes and certainly that any one person is either/or. One is not either a success or a failure. There is an enormous amount of middle ground between those two opposites that we need to lay claim to. As an author, you can appreciate that your book is a success even if it does not meet with overwhelming acclaim. It’s not likely that my work will ever be on the New York Times bestseller list, and even less likely that it will be a Pulitzer Prize winner.

.
Product Details Product Details
.

.

At the same time, I have stories to tell, stories that I hope will entertain and enlighten those who pick up my books and read them. The whole process of taking a book through the writing, editing, and publishing process is a new kind of learning experience and one that is frustrating, difficult, painstaking, and exhilarating.

And I am grateful for the readers that I do have, those who ask me “When is your next book coming out?” And especially those who say they can’t wait to read it.

So my audience may be small, my fame may be non-existent, my income from writing may be minuscule, but my gratification is enormous. And so I’ll keep on keeping on. And I encourage every ‘would-be’ writer out there to do the same. Success and failure are, after all, just words.

Until Next Time Writers!

.
Ellie Pulikonda, Author/Writer

.
cid_part1_09010609_02000208@illuminationgraphics-245x300

Readers Comments Help Me Be a Better Writer!

