WORDS ON WORDS ~ By Ellie


 

Image result for Copyfree Images quotes of my new book

.

TODAYS WORD?   WORDS!

My novel, Willa, is written. All two hundred and twelve pages of my manuscript are covered in words. Now comes the hard part: re-writing to tighten phrases, eliminate redundancy, facilitate the flow, check spelling, grammar, and syntax, and make it a good read.

Words have been a lifelong love of mine. Even as a small child I loved hanging around words to see what they had to say. I was the brat who aced every vocabulary test, won every spelling bee and cheered when essays were assigned.

The tendency for a lover of words is to see every word of their own writing as perfect, precise, apt, and immovable. Removing words I have written down is almost as painful as having a splinter removed (and just as necessary).

.

Image result for Copyfree images quotes of Words In Books

.
So here I am, faced with the editing of two hundred plus pages of manuscript. I can procrastinate by sharpening pencils, (even though I’m using a computer), checking pagination, straightening the stack of papers on my desk again (and yet again). I then remember that I need to take something out of the freezer for dinner and straighten my closet and, yes, it’s time to walk the dog again. Even writing this blog is evasion.

So! Enough of this procrastination. I will give myself a good talking-to and get going on the re-write. Right after I put in a load of laundry and straighten up the living room. Oh, and clean the kitchen counters.

Writing is fun. Re-writing: not so much.

Ellie Pulikonda, Author & Writer,  (My new novel “Finding Faith” below)

Product Details 

Just received new Book Reviews on Amazon! Click book and purchase!

 

Readers Comments Help Me Be a Better Writer!

