A Brief Rest, I am Back With A New “Words On Words”


But First?  A Sneak Peek Cover Reveal of My New Book Releasing SOON!

FINDING FAITH

Layout 1
Coming Very Soon Friends …

#          #            #             #              #           #

TODAYS WORD:  REWARDS

If you missed my blog recently, it’s because there wasn’t one. I was on a very special trip, making the acquaintance of two amazing great-grandsons.

Now, I was always convinced that my children were just about perfect, the best thing that ever happened to me. And they were. But then they began to give me grandchildren and I thought it couldn’t get any better than this. But it did. My grandchildren have begun to give me great-grandchildren, and my cup runneth over.

Surely, this is the most amazing reward for growing old, seeing your likeness in children, grandchildren and great-grandchildren. I wonder why I ever waited so long to reach this most elevated status. There is no sweeter feeling than when a two-year-old runs at you, shouting “Gigi”. Or a two-month old sleeps for two hours cuddled in your arms.

So many of the sweetest moments in life are only available when we are well along in years. I recently read a list of the benefits of aging and every one of them was a blessing available only in the latter part of life. My grandfather was a cobbler and in his shop was a battered old sign: “We get so soon old and so late smart”. I prefer to think that aging provides a perspective that we could get no other way.

.

.

“Grow old along with me; the best is yet to be; the last of life for which the first was made.” In our culture, aging is seen as a negative and the elderly are often relegated to the back burner. I’d like to take issue with that thinking. Growing older has rewards that could never have been imagined when we were young. And to access them and enjoy them, we have to admit that they are linked totally with our age.

Some of the benefits I saw in the article were confidence, empowerment, compassion experience, insight, freedom to be, and self-knowledge. There were over twenty advantages to being older. Certainly counteracts the complaints that are usually all we hear about the kingdom of old age.

AGE ON!!

 


FindingFaithSplitSecondCovers


Author of ‘Split Second’  & Soon ‘Finding Faith,’  Ellie Pulikonda


 

5 thoughts on “A Brief Rest, I am Back With A New “Words On Words”

Readers Comments Help Me Be a Better Writer!

