Words on Words by Writer Ellie Pulikonda


TODAY’S WORD? RETIREMENT

.


.

Retirement is something we look forward to for almost all of our working years.  Yet when the time comes, some of us are reluctant to give up what has filled most of our waking hours for much of our adult lives. So it was for me.

I had the most wonderful career in the whole world; I was a librarian.   During the latter years of my career, I was the director of a medium-sized library in central Indiana.  It was my dream job. I had fallen in love with libraries as a small child, when on my first visit to my home town’s small library, I was amazed that all those books were there for anybody who wanted to read them. I vowed to read every single book that was there.  I never accomplished that goal, of course, but even the attempt gave me an appreciation for the wonders and joy libraries provide.

Retirement, for me, was bitter-sweet.  More time to read all those books I had made lists of over the years but less time in the environment that I loved.

.

.

In our small town here in Southern Oregon, we have an amazingly good public library.  To add to that advantage, several homes have ‘tiny libraries’ at the edge of their lawns.  Once again I have fallen in love with libraries—tiny ones.  And thanks to the local Rotary Club, I am soon to have my own tiny library in my own front yard.

I’ll put in the books I have been saving to give away, books I’ve enjoyed and want to share, and allow children and adults to help themselves to anything that looks interesting.  These books may be returned but there’s no obligation to do so. And if anyone has books at home that they want to share, they’re welcome to bring them to my tiny library.

.

.

No check out. No overdue notices. No library fines. No obligation. Just a way to encourage reading and the love of good books.

So! Once again I will be the director of a library: my very own dream-come-true tiny library.  Retirement? Who needs it right?

Until Next Time Writer’s and Friends!

Ellie Pulikonda, Author & Writer of “Split Second”

.

 

 

Readers Comments Help Me Be a Better Writer!

