New Words on Words


Today’s Word: LOVE . . .


It’s strange to me that a word like ‘love’, which appears to be so definite and straightforward, can be used in so many different, sometimes opposing, ways. Love, right? Everyone knows what that word means.

“I love ice cream.” I loved that movie.” I’d love to get my hands on the guy who scratched up my new car.” I love red-hot chili but it doesn’t love me.”  I love you.”  “Love is eternal.”  Love never lasts.” I love to put down know-it-alls.” I love to help out others.”  “Love means never having to say you’re sorry.”

Makes you wonder what the word really means. Or at least what anyone means when they use it. The definition seems to change with the speaker, the occasion, and the object intended. If someone looks deeply into your eyes and whispers “I love you” and a week or so later says “Well, I did then but I don’t anymore”, how do we understand that?

Maybe we throw the word around too casually. Or maybe we think we know what we mean when we use it but we really don’t. I don’t have any answers to give, either. However, at the risk of being indefinite and misunderstood, I just want to say that I love to write. What I write on any given day may be good, it may be mediocre, or it may be downright crappy.  But putting words on paper has a magic that feels to me like love.

And I intend to keep on loving writing for a very long time. But, of course, on days when the writing isn’t going well and I can’t express exactly what I’m thinking or feeling, I wonder what love really means.

Until next time . . .

Ellie Pulikonda, Author/Writer

Product Details
 ( click book and purchase on Amazon )
Readers Comments Help Me Be a Better Writer!

