Another Words on Words #13


Hello and Welcome Friends, Readers and Writers,

 

 

.

Words on Words ~ #13

As a child, I learned the retort: “Sticks and stones can break my bones but words will never hurt me.”
As I have aged, I’ve learned that words can, indeed, hurt. I know this because I feel myself close and seek refuge when I read scathing remarks on Facebook or other social media. These are the harshest, most pejorative words flung casually at the intended target, meant to try to cripple the soul of someone just because he or she doesn’t agree with the ‘right’ philosophy or point of view.

The language is laced with acid ink, meant to inflict damage on the intended target, if only by convincing one other person that it is truth.

I’ve also noticed that I’m seeing more and more posts with a kinder, gentler theme. Posts that encourage, lift up, help heal. I’m glad that people who are mad at life and almost everyone I it are not the only voice of our times. I’m glad that the other version of truth is being put forward and shared by so many amazing people.

We only get this one world and when we fill it with trash talk and hateful speech we are, in effect, making our one world a garbage dump.

We’re all in this world together, as the song goes.  It could be a kinder, gentler world if we choose to promote respect, caring and encouragement through our words.
We could make our world better, one word at a time.

Much Happiness,
Ellie Pulikonda, Writer/Author

 Product Details

 

 

3 thoughts on “Another Words on Words #13

Readers Comments Help Me Be a Better Writer!

