MILESTONES . . .


Hello and Welcome Writers and Readers,

 

 

.

.
Milestones are markers that remind us to reinvent who we are and where we’re going.  I just passed another milestone: a birthday with a higher number than I ever thought I would reach.  In one sense, it’s a freeing event: it seems as if folks don’t expect as much from you as you age and your abilities begin to show wear and tear.  Don’t feel up to doing something?  Blame it on age and everyone accepts your reasoning.

On a personal note, however, it gives one a sense of urgency.  “When I have fears that I may cease to be, before my pen has gleaned my teeming brain.”  Since I first read that line in a college English class, it has resonated with me.  There is some kind of imperative to share what you have learned with others and rightly so.  Whether the ‘others’ read and relate to what you share is almost immaterial.  The need to share is foremost.

Of course, you write, and re-write, and delete, and ‘un-write’ the bits and pieces of your sense of things, hoping to project enough of the essence that someone else, anyone else, will get what you have to say.  And will find something in it to hang on to.  And every milestone reminds you that there is now less time left to reach your goal.  So many words, so little time.

.


.

John Keats wrote that poem in 1817, it wasn’t published until 1848, and I didn’t read it until about 1970.  And the truth of it was and is still there.  What he shared over a century ago is still relevant today.  I hasten to say that I do not compare myself to John Keats, except for the fact that writing was and is an imperative.

So each milestone, each anniversary of the day you were born, becomes a renewal of the pact you seem to have made to share whatever you have with whoever cares to receive it.

Write on!

Ellie Pulikonda, Writer/Author

Product DetailsMy Book ‘Split Second’ $2.99 to buy

Literature Blogs
best blogs

Readers Comments Help Me Be a Better Writer!

