Words On Words


Hello Readers, Friends and Welcome New Friends,

 

Today I would like to start off with a WordPress milestone! Thanks to you, all my new followers, likes, and visitors I have reached a new one. So thank you for taking time to come see my pretty new writers blog.

 

.
On Monday, June 1, 2015 you surpassed your previous record of most follows in one day for your blog
Ellie Pulikonda, Prolific Writer & Author. Nice!
Most Follows in One Day! Here on your WordPress blog!
Wow! Does this mean I’m popular or something? LOL. Ok, ok, now to my new blog post folks! 

Word on Words #12.

You may be wondering where I get all these amazing words I throw at you every week. First of all, I’m a woman so I have words I haven’t even used yet.  (There’s an old joke floating around somewhere: “The wife and I had words and I didn’t get to use any of mine.”) I probably have more words than you want to hear about.

Still, I have to confess that I also have a wonderful source of new, obscure, or seldom used words. It’s a site called A. Word. A. Day. ~ http://www.awordaday.comAnyone can subscribe to it and it’s guaranteed you’ll learn more words than you can use up in a lifetime.

Here you get erudite words that are seldom used by anyone but the very elite of authors. Try throwing one of them around to amaze your friends and followers. You’ll also find new words that are fresh off the page; wonderful made-up words to accommodate our fast-changing world.

You also get a plethora of rarely used words that will cause all your friends and acquaintances to believe you are a learned individual.

 


.

Now, of course, any really good up-to-date dictionary would give you some of these same words and their definitions.  But imagine how much time you save by not having to browse the dictionary for new words when you don’t even know what words you’re looking for. ‘A. Word. A. Day’ brings a new one to you every day with almost no effort on your part.

And the most impressive bit of all is that for truly unusual words, you’ll get, besides a definition, an audible pronunciation. That means you don’t have to scratch your head trying to remember what all those little squiggle’s and squirm’s in the dictionary’s pronunciation code actually mean.
.

If you’re smart you’ll go visit A. Word. A. Day and sign up. And even if you never use the new words, it’s just great fun to discover them!
.

Ellie Pulikonda, Writer & Author
My Book On Amazon

Readers Comments Help Me Be a Better Writer!

